相片

Photographer's Note

Castel Sant'Angelo is also known as the Mausoleum of Hadrian.It was initially commissioned by the Roman Emperor Hadrian as a mausoleum for himself and his family. The building was later used by the popes as a fortress and castle, and is now a museum.
Construction started in 123 A.D. and was finished in 139 A.D.,during the reign of Hadrian愀 successor, Antoninus Pius.
The mausoleum was connected to the city at the other side of the river by a newly constructed bridge, the Pons Aelius. The bridge is now known as the Sant'Angelo Bridge.

Photo Information
Viewed: 12129
Points: 42
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Krzysztof Kusy (krzychu30) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1703 W: 0 N: 3175] (15512)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH