Forums


Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-25-2010, 04:14 PM
finlay's Avatar
finlay finlay is offline
TE Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 64
Default Housekeeping of city lists

Hi

Does anyone know if there is a way to go about getting the "city" lists that appear on Trekearth corrected?

When looking through the site I frequently find that "cities" have been created under the wrong "state", or alternatively there may be multiple entries within the correct "state" because of mispellings.

An example is St Andrews which is in Fife. when you look under the "state" of Fife (in United Kingdom) there are 4 different spellings i.e. Saint Andrews, St Andrews, St. Andrews and St.Andrews. Also there are at least two other entries I have found for St Andrews, one under the "state" of Aberdeen and the other under the "state" of Dundee. These would appear to have been set up inadvertently and the correct "state" should have been Fife.

I am sure that a lot of this comes about because people may be unfamiliar with exact geography of a country that they may be visiting. Thats perfectly understandable and I am sure that I am as guilty as anyone else.

However as one of the objectives of the site is to learn about the world through photography it would be good if any inaccuracies could be corrected. Is there any way of flagging these up to get sorted?

Thanks
Finlay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2010, 06:13 PM
Keitht's Avatar
Keitht Keitht is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gloucester, England
Posts: 4,224
Default

Hi Finlay,

Probably the easiest way to report this kind of problem is to use the 'Contact Us' link at the bottom of the page. Be as precise as you can about any problem you find as the site is managed from the USA and you know what their understanding of geography is like. (Just kidding)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2010, 07:22 AM
finlay's Avatar
finlay finlay is offline
TE Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 64
Default Thanks

Thanks Keith I'll give that a try.

Finlay
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2010, 01:02 PM
Loic_bzh's Avatar
Loic_bzh Loic_bzh is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 1,571
Default

Hi Finlay and Keith.

The same problem again and again and again...

If you go to Vienna (Austria), you'll find "Vienne", "Wien", "Vienna", "Schönbrunn Palace", "Vienna center", "Danau valley" and so on...

The only way to avoid that anarchy is to use a closed list. I mean, for every country, you can only choose a name in the list of cities (plus an "unknown" choice)... If the guy choose "unknown", the photo is automaticaly send to the people in charge of localisation for the area (I already said I was OK to do that for one or several french disctrict...)

Last edited by Loic_bzh; 05-26-2010 at 01:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:15 AM.



Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.
explore TREKEARTH