相片

Photographer's Note

Ahom Raja's Palace, Gargaon

Gargoan was the principal seat of the Ahoms for more than four centuries. The chronicle sources refer that Suklengmung, the 15th Ahom king established the capital at Gargoan and constructed a palace with wood and other impermanent material in the year 1540 AD. Later, king Pramatta Singha constructed a brick wall and masonry gateway in the capital complex. The present multistoried edifice was built by king Rajeswar Singha in 1752 AD. The fort and the royal complex were badly damaged and disfigured due to procurement of raw materials for building from the monument.

The monument is four-storied building and arranged in gradually receding tiers. The top floor has dome like roof with a chamber. It had four watch towers originally of which now only two can be seen. The ground floor has three west facing halls and provided with a front and rear chamber.

sayanhya has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Namrata Gogoi (Namrata) (10)
  • Genre: 地方
  • Medium: 彩色
  • Date Taken: 2005-01-01
  • Categories: 建築
  • Exposure:f/5.6, 1/320 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version:Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2010-11-05 23:22
Viewed: 4729
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Namrata Gogoi (Namrata) (10)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH