相片

Photographer's Note

Cette chapelle, situ嶪 au nord de la ville m嶮i憝ale, est consacr嶪 Quenin, 憝瘵ue de 556 578, canonis en 1205. Elle poss鋄e une abside du XII鋗e si鋃le exceptionnelle par sa forme triangulaire et sa qualit : pilastres cannel廥 chapiteaux corinthiens supportant une architrave, frise carreaux avec remplois anciens et corniche l'antique.
La nef et la fa蓷de remont嶪s au XVII鋗e si鋃le sous l'憝瘵ue Joseph Marie de Suar鋊 portent son blason. Une autre plaque orn嶪 du d嶰or religieux (vase eucharistique et pampres de raisin) encastr en fa蓷de a servi de mod鋩e aux armoiries de la ville en 1630.
----
This chapel situated to the north of the town was dedicated to Quenin, bishop from 556 to 578 and canonized in 1205. The apse dates from the 12th century. It is remarkable for its unusual triangular shape and fine workmanship: fluted pilasters with Corinthian capitals support an architrave with a frieze of tiles recycled from roman times and a cornice in the style of classical antiquity.
The nave and the fa蓷de, restored in the 17th century by bishop Joseph Marie de Suar鋊 bear his coat of arms. The religious symbols of the chalice and the grape vine, visible on the fa蓷de, inspired the arms of the town in 1630.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1690
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Arnaud RAT (arnaud) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 25 W: 5 N: 26] (299)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH