相片

Photographer's Note

View on Saint F幨ix Canal in Nantes. This canal is where river Erdre joins river Loire. It is said it was built in 6th century by F幨ix, 16th bishop of the city and founder of the port of Nantes. In Middle Age the canal flew at the foot of Dukes of Brittany castle (also simply called Nantes castle). But in 1920s river Loire and river Erdre were partially bridged, the canal was shortened and doesn't stop anymore at the castle. River Erdre used to flow in place of Cours des Cinquante Otages, one of the main streets of Nantes. From the bridging works the river Erdre flows under Saint Pierre and Saint Andr malls via a underground canal leading to Saint F幨ix canal today.

This photo was taken from Ferdinand Favre quay, close to Nantes International Convention Centre. From left to right you can see Saint Cl幦ent church bell tower, the Nantes railway station and the Compagnons du Devoir house with its twisted bell tower.

mkamionka has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Olivier THIERRY (chawax) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1355 W: 21 N: 3242] (20764)
  • Genre: 地方
  • Medium: 彩色
  • Date Taken: 2011-04-03
  • Categories: 自然建築
  • Exposure:f/8, 1/60 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Map: view
  • Photo Version:Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2011-04-10 11:09
Viewed: 1423
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Olivier THIERRY (chawax) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1355 W: 21 N: 3242] (20764)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH