相片

Photographer's Note

Church of San Bartolo

The old church of San Bartolo or Bartolomeo was rededicated in the 16th century to the Madonna delle Grazie, a cult that was becoming very popular at that time. The remaining sixteenth-century pictorial decoration depicts the Madonna delle Grazie with two saints on the sides of which only St. Bartholomew can still be recognized while holding up his body, while above the figures the inscription AVE GRATIARUM MATER can be seen with difficulty.
The existence of the church of San Bartolo or Bartolomeo as a private church of the Pianciani family is confirmed by various documentary sources dating back to the fourteenth century where it is described as a private chapel. In 1458 Piergiovanni Pianciani had the church of mastro Martino lombardo restored, ordering the reconstruction of the corners, the walls, the roof and the construction of a seven-foot high bell gable (about 2 meters) for a fee of nine florins or the use of the lands of the church for three years. Other information can be found in the bequests of the same family where there is talk of a building in need of restoration.
Lascaris speaks of the church in one of his pastoral visits in the seventeenth century. After a fatal accident that occurred last century, the road was widened and the church was cut, of which only the back wall remains, so as to appear as a shrine.

holmertz, Fis2, jhm, ikeharel, clic, pierrefonds, COSTANTINO, mcmtanyel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 19725 W: 130 N: 41814] (220637)
  • Genre: 地方
  • Medium: 彩色
  • Date Taken: 2022-01-20
  • Exposure:30 seconds
  • Photo Version:Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2022-01-20 2:26
Viewed: 0
Points: 30
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 19725 W: 130 N: 41814] (220637)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH