相片

Photographer's Note

S.Giorgio Maggiore late afternoon.
This an islands of Venice, lying in front of S.Marco square. In year 829 it had a church consecrated to St.George; then the doge donated the whole island to a monk, Giovanni Morosini (were a noble Venetian family which gave many doges, statesmen, generals and admirals to the Venetian Republic).

Now is known for the Church of San Giorgio Maggiore, designed by Palladio and begun in 1566.
After the fall of the Republic of Venice the island became a free port (with a new harbour) and the home of Venice's artillery.

It is now the headquarters of the Cini Foundation arts centre, known for its library.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1470
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Paolo Realdon (Paolo66) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 15 W: 0 N: 12] (169)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH