相片

Photographer's Note

Piediluco - Terni
Piediluco, located at 375 m a.s.l., rises on the shore of the homonymous lake which feeds, together with the waters of the Velino river, the Marmore waterfall.
The place has been inhabited for a long time, as evidenced by the remains of settlements dating back to the late Bronze Age. Later it was a possession of the Sabines and, starting from the middle of the third century BC, it fell into the hands of the Romans.
In a document of 1028 we mention the Castello de Luco (on the top of the mountain of the Rocca, from the Latin lucus, sacred wood) and the curtem de Postro (on the lake shore), as a possession of Berardo di Arrone, feudal lord of the place, who grants it to the monks of the abbey of Farfa. The fortress was characterized by a keep with a quadrangular tower, of which now only the remains remain. Below stood a small village, in the area called the Colle. It is assumed that between the 11th and 12th centuries the Romanesque church of Santa Maria del Colle was built, of which the ruins and the bell tower characterized by two orders of mullioned windows remain, which today constitutes the emergence of the village.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17806 W: 130 N: 37467] (203844)
  • Genre: 地方
  • Medium: 彩色
  • Date Taken: 2020-10-10
  • Exposure:f/0.6, 30 seconds
  • Photo Version:Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2020-10-11 1:23
Viewed: 0
Points: 52
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17806 W: 130 N: 37467] (203844)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH