相片

Photographer's Note

The Cracow Gate, one of Lublins top landmarks, was built as a part of the city walls in the 14th c. The gate owes its name to the historic royal route leading from Cracow, via Lublin to Vilnius. It served as a defensive structure, an observation tower for the fire rescue, and a residence of the clock-master operating the clock. The gate also had a trumpeter who would play a bugle call.

The oldest, Gothic part of the gate was built from limestone and bricks, whereas the two-storey extension from vitrified bricks. The octagonal, plastered clock tower and the foregate were erected in the mid 16th c. The gate is crowned with a Baroque cupola with a monogram SAR (Stanislaus Augustus Rex) and a date 1782, added during the reconstruction works supervised by Dominic Merlini.

The present form of the Cracow Gate was achieved after renovation works in the years 1959-1964, which restored the original appearance of the gate and adapted its interiors for the needs of the Lublin History Museum.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Piotr Fagasiewicz (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 5396 W: 2 N: 10432] (49318)
  • Genre: 地方
  • Medium: 彩色
  • Date Taken: 2020-06-00
  • Photo Version:Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2020-07-02 14:26
Viewed: 0
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Piotr Fagasiewicz (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 5396 W: 2 N: 10432] (49318)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH