相片

Photographer's Note

William Hickey's Almshouses.

Hickey's Almshouses are almshouses between Sheen Road and St Mary's Grove in Richmond, London. They are Grade II* listed by Historic England and this listing also extends to the site's chapel (which is dedicated to St Francis) and to its lodges.


1834 inscription at Hickey's Almshouses

William Hickey memorial in Chapel of St Francis
A plaque over the entrance records that the almshouses were built "for Ten poor Men and Ten poor Women by the bounty of William Hickey Esq. Who by his Will bequeathed certain Lands and houses in Richmond in Trust for Charitable purposes".William Hickey,who died in 1727 and is buried in an altar tomb in the churchyard of St Mary Magdalene, Richmond, left the income of several properties on Richmond Hill, including The Wick, in trust to provide pensions for six men and ten women.In 1822 the charity's funds were boosted by a major donation by Elizabeth Doughty.

Twenty almshouses, designed by Lewis Vulliamy,in Neo-Tudor style with high chimneys,were built in 1834 from the trust's income. In 1834 the trust also built a chapel and two gate lodge cottages. The property, which includes another 29 buildings behind the almshouses, now consists of 49 flats and cottages,a laundry and a workshop.

The almshouses are managed by The Richmond Charities. New residents are accepted from 65 years of age.

Copyright - This photograph is an intellectual property of its author,and is strictly forbidden, the reproduction,modification, or exploitation for any way,thus is protected by the Law. The use or reproduction by any way without previous written authorization of the photographer is strictly prohibited.For more please contact: [email protected]

Photo Information
Viewed: 876
Points: 44
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Danos kounenis (danos) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 13663 W: 293 N: 27485] (110407)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH