相片

Photographer's Note

Best viewed in a new tab for better detail.

By river the small town of Brewarrina is over 2,000 km from the sea. Paddle steamers used to sail all the way to Brewarrina and beyond to pick up bails of wool. This lift bridge over the Barwon River opened in 1896. It took 2 men to wind it up the centre part to allow the paddle steamers to pass. Apart from the lift section the strudture is all timber.
In the local museum there are photos in flood time of water nearly up to the road way. It has now been replaced by a modern concrete bridge that doesn't need to open as the river boats have long gone from this part of the river. The arrival of the railway meant the end for the river boats but the railway to Brewarrina has also long since closed. Wool, cotton and meat all go by road these days.

papagolf21, Fis2, holmertz, Royaldevon, jean113, jhm, PiotrF has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 28
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ian Fegent (ifege) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1990 W: 83 N: 6288] (28425)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH