相片

Photographer's Note

A view of the ruins of the Roman Forum, here in the background (the building with the columns and the "wings" on the top of the roof) is the temple of Antonius and Faustina. It was turned into the Church of San Lorenzo in Miranda, which may date to the 7th century, but the first evidence is from the 11th century. It was begun in 141 under the Emperor Antonius Pius, who dedicated it to his deceased (and deified) wife Faustina the Elder. When the emperor himself was deified upon his death in 161, his successor Marcus Aurelius re-dedicated the temple to both him and his wife. It stands on a platform of large blocks, on which the church now stands. It was converted into a Christian church but retained many of the features of the old pagan temple, including the large columns, which gives it an interesting "hybrid" appearance. In the middle ages, a staircase was built on the forum side as it had not yet been excavated and the ground level was much higher than it is presently. Some restoration of the original ancient temple has taken place, including the removal of some small side chapels. Excavations began in 1801.

matt_harris_42 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1772
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Terez Anon (terez93) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 92 W: 78 N: 1276] (2193)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH